Why Do I Work Out? Part 1

Part 1

Since I’m not a fan of long blogs, I’ll break this subject into small, easily digestible chunks.

Why do I work out?  I hate working out!  Endorphin rush?  Runner’s high?  I don’t experience these phenomena.  To me, working out is painful, time consuming, and boring.  To tell you the truth, I used to convince myself into prioritizing household chores before working out; resulting in an, “oops I seem to be out of time” excuse.

So why do I work out?  Simple!  Working out has drastically improved my quality of life BETWEEN work outs.

In 2008 I weighed 265 pounds (70 pounds overweight and obese), was lethargic, and unmotivated.  I had health problems including sleep apnea, reflux, mild depression/anxiety, and chronic back pain.  Accompanying the health problems was the “necessary” plethora of expensive prescription pharmacopoeia.   Doctors love to treat symptoms rather than the underlying condition; but that’s another discussion.

I grew exponentially more disgusted with myself with each glance in the mirror (glancing was all I could handle) to the point where I decided to get active again.  So I went backpacking with some friends in the Sierra Nevada.  Now, I have always had a love affair with backpacking!  Backpacking was a frequent and effortless activity for me when I was in good physical condition.  I hiked to the top of Mount Whitney with no issues in 2004 as well as other numerous strenuous excursions!  But this “easy” trip kicked my ass so bad as to be not enjoyable at all.  A miserable backpacking trip was enough for me to kick things into high gear.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment